Home Community Forum 🏠
Options

Running Dog ???

I'm  looking at getting a running partner since virtually no one near me in my town runs or I think even exercises.  I know quite a few in the haus have dogs that they run with and was taking any input on which breed is good, how to train them, or do i get one already trained, etc... for picking a partner.  I've been looking at a couple of Ridgebacks but have heard of a few other breeds that are great dogs to run with and train to do so. (Vislas)

Thanks for any of those dog lovers that have the knowledge I need going in.

Comments

• Options

HI Trent -

I actually train dogs for a living (hunting dogs) and breed Labradors - so I know a little bit about it . First question though is what will the dog do when it is not running with you? Are you going to be running on trails or on roads? On leash or off? Dogs that make great running partners don't always make great dogs for hanging around by themselves the rest of the day. Think along the lines of dogs that are bred to run long distances at a steady clip, if you live in a cooler climate a Huskie is a great choice. Bird dogs - as in - Pointers, and Setters, Viszlas and I can't remember the other ones right now - the redder version, have good natual frame size and running ability and are bred for endurance, but can be more independent. Contrary to popular belief Labs are actually not the best running partners from a conformation standpoint, especially the heavier framed show types. Sadly Labs in general are prone to hip and elbow problems and you have to be really careful screening the health clearances of the parents and make sure to let them physically mature before starting to run w/ them. Labs are really water dogs and not meant for a lot of miles, but shorter sprints (think - go get that bird that fell 50 yards away and come back and then rest) and A LOT of swimming! So if you wanted a swimming partner I would say - get a Labrador!