Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman Lake Placid
Options

IMLP Race Pace Calculator

This is probably just a minor detail but the EN Racing Calculator in wiki has a different format than the 2010 version.  No more "gears" and the new calculator uses 75% FTP for the majority of the race.  Do we need to dial down the watts to 70% or just go with 75%?  

Also, the gears from the old version seemed useful as a way to manage climbs and a mental check to stop me from going too hard when I was feeling good. The table from the old calculator was also nice to tape onto my aerobars. 

What is everybody else doing?

Comments

• Options
    Yes - I noticed that. I think the one you are talking about might be from the power webinar or other power files. That is the one that I am using, and have the "gears" taped to my aerobars. I'm wondering if the wrong file is being linked to in the wiki.
  • Options

Perfect timing for this question. I am new to power, having gotten a Quarq just a month ago. But, I would like to have an idea of power for IMLP, and I was planning to tape something to my bars. I was just getting online to find the file when I saw this! So, can anyone give me the definitive EN link to the Lake Placid power percents. I was hoping for a section-by-section suggestion for power over the course. Thanks!

• Options
    @George go to the micro forum and find Joe's IMLP Watts something or other. or click on me as I asked him in that thread the same question. He responded with the excel file which you can download and compute your 4 gears.
  • Options
    It's Joe Manning
    Joe's IMLP target Watts planning in the micro thread
  • Options

@Robert. Thanks but I can't find it. Was it in the screencast of Joe's RR?

• Options
    see if this link works

EN_Power_Racing_Calculator_Manning_IMLP.xls