Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman CDA
Options

PSA To IM CDA Athletes

I'm reluctant to write this, for fear of scare-mongering, but as both a physician, and one who has raced many IMs in the heat, I feel compelled.

First off, the folks @ the NOAA weather service who spend their lives worrying about inland northwest weather have this to say this morning: "...confidence is high based on pattern recognition and general model agreement that the weekend will feature record breaking heat pretty much across the forecast area..." My best guess from following these weather predictions and seeing the results for a few decades now is that the high temps on Sunday will be between 95 and 105F, leaning towards the higher end of that range, with the peak temps from 3 PM thru 7PM.

As a physician, I know that people competing in an IM can put themselves at serious, literally life-threatening risk, in those conditions. The two big risks are heat exhaustion/stroke, and hyponatremia. Heat stroke kills people, and results when internal temps exceed about 102.4, which is as much a function of muscular activity as it is external temp. The high ambient temp simply makes it hard if not impossible to effect internal cooling if the critical level is exceeded. The two ways to avoid this outcome are: GO SLOWER. A LOT SLOWER!!!! And of course, use all cooling measures you can imagine - ice in the groin area, in your palms, run under hoses (better foot blisters than a trip to the ER/ICU0, etc etc.

Hyponatremia (low blood sodium) seems to affect a certain segment of the athletes; those who are taking a long time to run, and who are consuming lots of water to stay hydrated/cool. This is also a life threatening prospect. I'm usually not an advocate of salt tabs - I feel ouR bodies, and the on-course gatorade and other nutrition have sufficient NaCl in them - but in this case, salt pills + (diluted) Gatorade Endurance instead of pure water, is probably a great idea.