Home Races & Places 🏁⛺
Options

Keith Shireman IM 70.3 Muncie Race report

This race was my 4th 70.3 that I have raced in since beginning triathlon in 2013. My training had actually began back in the Outseason last year in preparation for Ironman Texas. But soon after we finished football season (I'm a certified/licensed athletic trainer - I deal with all the rehab and sports medicine injuries) I herniated a couple of discs in my back. I was devastated as I was really looking forward to competing in my first full Ironman. So I had a good cry about it (lol) and began rehabbing and also looking at what race I could do in its' place. It took 2 months to get into the back surgeon to see what my options were at that time. No surgery so I put my head down and started training again as my back would allow. After I got clearance I looked and decided on competing Muncie. My training went great and I was superpumped at my results thus far. I knew I wanted to improve on all disciplines to have an opportunity to compete well. I'm not a great age grouper or do I score any points in my age group but nonetheless I work hard. So on to the race......

I can honestly say that all my training from EN, my diet, core/muscluar workouts and brand ambassador support from companies that took me in this year were awesome. Yes it all does make a difference to have your program on another level. Plus I finally got on a tri bike that I can be happy with and setup to my liking. My nutrition on the bike was also on point and that's something that really made me happy.