Home General Training Discussions

Should I use latex tubes?

I am racing IM New Orleans on the 22nd. I’ve never used latex tubes before. I here the save around 5w. Should I get some and race with them?  If so should I put a butyl tube in my saddle bag?
Tagged:

Comments

• @Chris Oubre  I first heard about latex tubes this past July at Racine (from a guy who had a flat) and was thinking of using them for IMWI this past September. From what I understand, they primarily lower rolling resistance. Can't confirm the 5w savings. I decided against using them because they are much more finicky, high maintenance and difficult to deal with.  I also heard they are more prone to flats, etc so I decided against using them on the old farm roads in Wisconsin. Not completely sold that the benefits out weigh the costs -- I can gain 5w over 40k if I simply shave my legs! If you do use them, I would definitely use a butyl tube as a spare.

• @Chris Oubre - only if you can get them "installed" right... they are finicky, require lots of care & talc to get in without blowing them up. Note that they do lose air faster than butyls. 
    I have them in and use them for racing. I also use my race tires until the next race, so they stay in and have no less or more problems once in right than butyls.
    Also note that you can'f fill latex with CO2, so butyl in my flat kit is how i roll. 
    I am sure others will chime in. 
    the key here is having only 12 days to install and ride a bit to ensure they are in good.. 

note that last year, I borrowed a disc wheel from a well equipped teammate and his latex tube blew up on my 1 mile test ride...