Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Kent Gavin's Ironman Wisconsin Race Plan (first 140.6!)

Thanks in advance for reading my race plan.  I'm relatively new to EN and to triathlon (and fitness in general).  I've already made some notes from reading other plans and feedback so will combine that with any other feedback I receive.   I'm looking forward to sucking up as much knowledge, speed and mojo that I can from all of you! 

Narrative:

This is my FIRST 140.6!. I’ve been working up to this race all year and this journey really started less than 3 years ago when I started swimming based on the encouragement of my good friend Jason Brandt. That was just the start of things – and since he’s got me fully into triathlon. Thousands of training hours (and thousands of dollars) later I’m ready to go 140.6 miles and earn the title of Ironman.   I couldn’t have done it without Jason, and I’m excited to race Ironman Wisconsin with him – his home race.

It almost didn’t happen though; less than four months ago (5/12), I broke my clavicle, 3 ribs, bruised my hip bone (hip pointer) and received many other bruises and scrapes in a bike crash. Bike was ok except for the back wheel (oh well, guess that needs to be upgraded), as was the small child who I crashed to avoid running over. Unfortunately, the injury caused me to miss my other big event this year – 70.3 Victoria. I still went to Victoria to have a weekend away with my girlfriend Colleen, support Jason who was also racing Victoria, and to volunteer which was a fun experience and way to give back (hoping to improve my luck/karma!). I had surgery 5/17 to put a large rod through the bone to keep it together while it heals. Thanks to an awesome surgeon (Michael McAdams who is one of the Seahawks orthopedic surgeons), the help from my family, Brandi and the gang at Lakeland Sport and Spine and countless others, I’ve been able to recover and get back to training in time to feel ready for the race.