Homeβ€Ί Announcements πŸŽ™
Options

Stryd vs GPS watches as Data Source

I had this posted on the dashboard, but perhaps may get more traction in the forums.

I just got my Stryd and had a quick question around what info people get from Stryd, beyond power, and what they get from their GPS device. I have Stryd set up to be the speed source rather than my Garmin 935, per the Stryd instructions when I set up. Pros/ cons to this? Those of you "Stryders", do you only use Stryd for power and your GPS watch for pace, distance, speed?

Comments

• Options

@Jeff Phillips - I am a newbie on stryd. I haven't done much with it, not even calibrated, so I should probalby do that soon!

I am essentially using it as a data collection tool at this point. Now that I have been using it for about 8 weeks, I am starting to pay attention to the power numbers and start to understand them.

I previously had a Garmin Footpod for running on a TM. When outside I always used the GPS as my speed/ distance source & the Footpod on the TM... I would have assumed this translates the same to Stryd, but let's see what smarter people have to say!

• Options

Stryd is more reliable for speed and distance. On my watch a Fenix 3 I keep gps on also. If you are on trails I think Stryd would be more accurate

• Options

@Jeff Phillips I have been using Stryd since last spring, first collecting data, then starting to use the numbers. I do have my speed and distance to read off the Stryd, not the GPS. I have the fenix 5 and as much as I paid for it, don't trust much that comes out of it. I know the GPS is supposed to be pretty good, but the wrist HR is for shit.

• Options
    Despite what Stryd folks say, I found my Garmin
    Fenix 3 to be more accurate on distance
    when I run on track or marked path. I
    Assume from that distance is better also.
    I have Stryd set for sp/dist indoor only

Sent from my iPhone
  • Options

Thanks @Al Truscott, @Jeff Horn, @Tim Sullivan and @scott dinhofer