Home General Training Discussions
Options

Science of Ultra Podcast- Episode 59: Neurological Fatigue in Ultra Marathons with Guillaume Millet

Has anyone listened to this one?

I tend to geek out on stuff like this and wonder if in a former life I was a scientist.

Lots of really interesting thoughts here about where fatigue originates (hint: it's not from the muscle) and the difference between perceived fatigue and actual fatigue.

And maybe the most interesting of all: how the All Blacks rugby team deals with athletes' muscles cramping in the middle of matches. Can this technique be used in ultras (or anything). This is definitely something that I will experiment with during training

Please listen and let's discuss. :)

Tagged:

Comments

• Options

Science of ultra podcast are great.

The other one I enjoy and that I listen every episode about the Barkley when drove to TN was Ginger Runner. I like the race reports discussion.

Also enjoy the trail talk by rock Creek, these are funny :)

• Options

Love Science of Ultra! Probably my favorite podcast because it is based on data from researchers. (I am a scientist, or was). @Tim Sullivan started a thread earlier this year to discuss the podcast.

• Options

I just listened to episode related to cross training

My takeaways from this episode:

1) Hiking is considered cross-training, even if it happens during a run

2) the goal with hiking is to maximize your lowest speed so when you are low, your speed is "fast"

3) If you are strong hiker, this is a secret weapon as you can totally use your hiking muscles for a climb and once at the top, your running muscles are ready to start running vs someone that only use his running muscles

• Options

Nice- I will give this one a listen.

I would imagine that #3 this is the real benefit. Minimize the fatigue of the "running muscles"