Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Kryvicky's IMTX Race Plan

I have never done this before so I took liberty of stealing the format from WSM Al T.  :-)  Here we go!  Please let me know if I have neglected anything or have over thought anything.

Final Week

Sunday: Easter, SAUs

Monday: Review packing check list and make sure everything is ready for the trip tomorrow. I already have everything packed by event in bags so that I can transfer easily to my race day bags without worry – morning (pre race) – bike – special needs – run – special needs – post event. I was made for the logistics of these races!

Tuesday: Start the drive to IMTX. 18.5 hours not accounting for stops. Goal is to be on the road by 8am, stop by 10pm with 3 hours of breaks for gas, potty, eating and stretching. 

Wednesday: Finish drive to IMTX – hopefully in before 5pm to do athlete check in and recon the start line for a hot minute,  however if not then go to hotel (5km away) and get ready for the days ahead.

Thursday: It begins! Priority #1 – SLEEP IN and Breakfast. Then Race site for Athlete check in and all the goodies there, get in and out as quickly as possible. Check out all my gear and make sure all is working. Course recon of bike then a quick 30’ jog on the run course before the Athlete’s banquet at 5:30pm-7:30pm. Post banquet finish up shopping for anything needed for Friday/race day i.e. food stuffs and anything somehow lost, broken or forgotten. Charge D12!!

Friday:  Priority #1 – SLEEP IN. Practice swim (only chance at venue) sometime between 8am and 10am, big carby breakfast. Afternoon: Lunch and athlete briefing at 2pm, bike check in then be done with it all. Movie? TV? Go home and off feet, relax the rest of the day with an early dinner of something light. In bed by 8pm – pretend to sleep.

Race Day

Up @ 4 AM. Breakfast of 600-800 cal shake. Put on sunscreen and antichafe

Race day outfit: HR strap, Coeur Tiger Team Race kit, Road ID, Garmin 920xt, chip

Leave for T zone @ 5am