Home General Training Discussions

Running Form Question

Team, I was hoping someone could give me some advice. I am new to running (longest run 15k at 9:40 pace) . I have been looking for a way to improve my run form. There are programs out there specifically designed to help make you a more efficient runner but I wonder if they are all marketing hype. Being from the CrossFit community, there has never been a need to become more efficient. 

Coach P is placing me on a run durability program soon. I run in Hokas. Again, not for long endurance runs as I have never actually done any. 

Does anyone suggest getting a lower drop/minimalist shoe and working on becoming a forefoot runner? I notice during my race that all those passing me are running on their forefoot. I have more of a midfoot strike. 

Any recommendations are greatly appreciated!

Tagged:

Comments

• @arielle.harvey If by "new to running" you mean you never ran before this year, I think the #1 piece of advice I'd give is, for the remainder of this year, Just Run. The biggest risk is doing too much, too soon. Too fast, too long, too fancy, etc. Run Durability (running a little bit, 30 - 40 minutes 6-7 times a week) to build all the muscles, bones, joints, ligaments, and tendons is about creating a strong foundation to help you avoid injury, which is very common when we first start out in a new sport.

Instead of shoes, technique, or speed, it may be a good idea (if you don't already do this) to consider some exercises to help strengthen the muscles and secondary support you need to run properly on a regular basis, and faster when it comes time to race. The smaller muscles of the hips and core, as well as the larger muscles of the thigh and butt are what need special attention. There are lots or resources available for this IRL and on the InterWebs. As an example, check out the "strength" section on EN's Running wiki page: