Homeโ€บ Ultra Racing
Options

Run Strategy for 100K

Ok, y'all. First off, where is everyone else? I guess doing Ultra May? I'm not doing that. I went ahead and registered for the virtual 100K on June 27th. Now I'm scared. Been a little plagued with injuries and my long runs wont be as long as I want. What's new? But as we say, better undertrained than overtrained.

Here's my question. I'm thinking about starting with a run 10 min, walk 1-2 min strategy from the very beginning, rather than go until I just need to walk a lot. My first and slow/easy pace 50K took almost 9 hours so I'm guessing this 100K will take 18-20 hours. It will be my longest physical event ever. I'm scared. My only goal is to finish in one effort (the rules allow to spread over 2 days, but I'm not doing that).

What would you do?

Tagged:

Comments

• Options

well, I just ran a 50k on my own on Wednesday. I am no expert by any stretch. I hadn't run more than 6 miles in many months and only had 4 weeks of 20 MPW under my feet, so it was truly an exercise in stupidity.

that said, I started off at a 10minute pace. The first few miles I had to stop take care of some nature calling breaks, so they ended up more like 12s.. I didn't start a walk run until around mile 13 or so, but at that point I had to.

I think your strategy is sound. The key is going to be what your run pace is for the 10' of running so that you are aren't burning matches you will need later on.

• Options

Thanks for replying, @scott dinhofer . First off, you crazy! Glad you survived your effort.

I tried to run/walk technique on Saturday and it went well. I ended up not being a slave to the clock, but using inclines (there are no real hills on this course) and nutrition breaks to fast hike. Worked out to be not much slower than my usual pace. I did 26.2 yesterday. Was a little sore, but not bad. I had some weird quad injury two weeks ago from a typical run, so main goal is to not do that again.