Home General Training Discussions
Options

Stretching...

Can anyone tell I am new to EN?  I have set up like 5 new topics in the last week...at least I am eager to learn, right?!

Is there anything about stretching here in the Haus?  Maybe a routine, or a program, or even EN's philosophy on stretching?  I know when I am stretching regularly, I generally feel better, but, I find that if I stretch too much I feel like I am dragging because I am straining my muscles too much.  At the moment, what I do is stretch about 5 days a week in the evenings when I am winding down the day...

Is that a good idea?  Should I stick to doing after workouts?  Thanks for the help!

Comments

• Options

Stephen-

We are all different based on needs. I do the same as you. I stretch in the evenings, after work, watching the news. I work out first thing in the morning. If anything is sore at work (usually hamstring after a run), then I have a tennis ball to massage the area. Many of us are dependent upon some type of trigger point, foam roller to maintain our mobility. I might stretch my calf and soleus before a run, loosen up my ankles- not consistently, but I do nothing before getting on the bike. When I am swimming, I stretch my shoulders before and after. There is no one established EN philosophy for stretching.

When the runs are 1.5 hrs or more, I find an ice bath immediately afterwards is essential. Otherwise, I rarely leave myself enough time before work to cool down, bathe, stretch, eat.

Just my N=1. Will try not to jinx myself, but except for the occasional rolled ankle, I have been very lucky and not injury prone. More like I am stiff in upper body after long bike or run and work out those kinks. Most chronic issue after ankles is shoulders when swimming and that is technique driven.

• Options

welcome Steve!