Home Community Forum 🏠
Options

Complete Newbie - The place for me?

I've been biking and running for approximately four weeks. My fastest time on the bike (old Giant intro level road bike) is 15.8 mph over 15 miles and I'm currently doing a run/walk interval of 3 minutes run/2 minutes walk. In other words, I don't have much fitness, currently! My swim fitness is even worse but I'm starting that this week (couldn't swim 100 meters right now probably).

However, I'm enjoying the process and thinking long-term. I've always admired this website and thought I would give it a 7 day trial.  My question is should I wait until my general fitness level improves to join OR can EN take someone like me and build them up the right way from the start. I highly agree with the ROI philosophy here and want to get the most out of my training.

Any and all input would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

Neal

Comments

• Options
    IMHO, you're "general fitness" will improve soooo much more quickly with a structured and SMART approach, which is exactly what you will get with EN. Also, along the way you will have much more fun because you will avoid many mistakes you would probably make otherwise (there is a TON of collective knowledge in EN), AND you will benefit from the team "mojo" which is a very significant intangible. The fact that you're "general fitness" is low right now only means that you will make much more significant gains compared to some of the uber-fit teammates who are at the pointy end of the stick. In short, join, I highly doubt you will be sorry!
  • Options

Hi Neal:

Welcome to the team.  There are a ZILLION triathlon teams, web sites, etc. out there.  The EN differentiator is how to execute on race day.  Anyone can tell you to swim, bike, and run x-hours per day/week, but EN teaches you how to execute.  

"On race day it isn't about fitness (everyone is fit), it is about execution."