Home General Training Discussions
Options

Aero position

I am new to triathlons and am curious about the benefit of me training in the aero position.  I participated in IM louisville 2009 and did the entire ride in a sitting up position.  Riding is my weakest event.  I have had some low back issues in the the past ( primarily when I did things that required bending forward at the waist ).  I am a little concerned about doing extensive training in the aero position for fear of having similiar problems.  I feel great now and wanted to know how important it is to try and get to the point where I can ride in the aero position.  I average about 15 miles per hour on a ride now and would like to greatly improve that.  Would trying to force the issue about riding in the aero position speed my improvement as compared to continuing to ride in the upright position.   

Comments

• Options
    Mike,

I will chime in quickly as I have to do my run before work here soon.

First: your back issues can be caused by many things. There are multiple ways to manage a back condition: Chiropractic, Physical therapy, etc. I suggest you find someone competent in managing issues for triathletes in your area as we do things very repetitively in the Tri world, which is different than the sedentary office worker.

Second: your bike position could very well be off and therefore contribute to the low back. For instance: I have a Cat 2 female that ascended the rankes from a novice Cat 5 to a 2 in a single year. She's a powerhouse but she cannot sit on her trainer with her bike for 1 hour without issues involving her neck. She was fit by a professional fitter but she moved her seat forward a smidge to get more power AFTER her pro-bike fit. We lengthened her stem and raised it 2 degrees and that is all it took for her neck to be comfortable.