Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman CDA
Options

Camp Week Planning

I've been training with EN since 2009; and I've been doing my own "Camp Weeks" since 2005. But new this year is the coaches integrating a Camp Week into the standard IM plan. So I'm going to spitball my plans for this week, which will follow the spirit but not the exact trajectory of the plan.

Monday: I'll have raced an Olympic Tri the day before; I'll have had the three days before that on the light side; and I'll be acclimated to my 8400' lodgings. So I'm just going to do the plan as written - Monday swim 3900 yds/80 min in the AM and Monday run 5 miles in the PM. Est TSS: 120

Tuesday: Again, as written - Swim 4000 yds/80 min (no optional work) in the AM, 2 x 1 mi @ TP/45 minutes in the PM Est TSS: 120

Wed: Here's where I start to go off plan. The local Epic Climb, Independence Pass (rising out of town @ 7900' topping @ 12,100') opens for the season (meaning snow and avalanche chutes cleared) on Thursday, so this is the last day to get a ride up and down with NO TRAFFIC - a big deal as the road is narrow, steep, twisting, and often filled with tourists. It ends up being a five hour ride there and back from my house, so I'll take it as the second long ride of the week (meant for Sat). The plan has an optional run on Wed; I'm going to drop that. TSS: 270

Thurs: Now I'm starting to scratch my head. I want to do the RR swim/bike/run on Fri/Sat; which leaves me a long run of 135 min and a bike interval set of up to 55 min of intervals to fit in on Thurs and Sun. So I peeked ahead to the next week, which allows for Mon & Tues as potential off or recovery days if I do "Camp Week". Given that, I think I'll go for the bike intervals, which I'll do as a series of shorter hills climbs in the neighborhood (10-20 minutes long @ 85-105%) - Est TSS: 90

Fri: RR Swim as 800/700/600/500/400/300/200/100/100/50/50; TSS 75

Sat: RR Bike & Run: TSS 310

Sun: Long Run 135 min/16 miles; TSS 170