Homeโ€บ Races & Places ๐Ÿโ›บ
Options

Xavier's Triple T Ohio Report

Hi,

Just to introduce myself, I am new to Endurance Nation since a few weeks, and also relatively new to Triathlons, started one year ago with my first OD. Since then I only did one Half Ironman Distance in October, and that was it. Untill last weekend. Then I added one Super Sprint, two ODs and one Half Ironman. So more than doubled my total Triathlon experience in one weekend.

To sum it up, it was hard. Very hard. Very likely due to my inexperience, my enthusiasm and my lack of training early in the season, because of a gruesome winter and some running injuries. But I finished, and I am happy. Also to be part now of EN, so I can prepare myself way better for my main goal this year, the Ironman Wisconsin.

Weight: 213 lbs

Length: 6ft4inch

ย 

Preparation:

Well, not so structured to be honest. I really want to be good on the bike, my favorite discipline, so I spend a lot of time riding indoor on a trainer or outdoor. Without a specific training plan, but doing intervals on hills and ramping up weekly mileage. Don't have a power meter, my HRTreshold is 148. On the swim I focused a lot on technique, and just began to train fitness. I am fast on the short distance, but poor on the longer ones. The run used to be my strong point, and I kind of trained less on that. Very few long runs, lots of intervals but not above my HR treshold (165). I had a problem in the winter and spring with small injuries. First the calves/achilles, then the fascias plantas and the last month my IT bands. I know, I have to foamroll and stretch more. It's not my favourite thing, but I have started now.ย 

The last month I raised my training volume to >10 hours a week, with a taper of 4 hours the last week.ย 

ย 

Execution:

Friday 5 pm, Race 1: Super Sprint