Home Community Forum 🏠
Options

How do you do it all?

I'm supposedly in Week 11 of the IM plan, and yet, here I sit only having done 2 workouts all week.  I have motivation and I'm not trying to be lazy, but I had a huge work event that I was planning yesterday that resulted in working lots of 14-16 hr days this week.  And even before this week, I'm far from perfect with workout consistency, though not nearly as bad as this week was.  Its rarely just a "I don't want to do this workout" but unexpected work things that get in my way.  I don't like making excuses though, and at this point am getting legitimately scared about my training for IM CdA.  My job is one of many hats- I am a graduate student doing neurorehabilitation research that takes up the majority of my time, but I also have significant teaching and clinical (PT) responsibilities as well.  While all this requires a lot of time, I'm also at the bottom of the food chain, so I get given lots of last minute tasks ("Hey, can you write this part of the grant by tomorrow?", "Can you fill in and teach ___ tomorrow?") that I don't have the power (and it would be a bad professional move) to say no to. So many times I plan when I'm working out, only to end up not being able to get out of work.  Or morning workouts get skipped because I'm up real late working and can only get by on 5 hrs of sleep for so long. 

Enough back story, I want to know how people seem to do it all here!  I know many have very demanding jobs and kids and other responsibilities far beyond what I'm dealing with, and yet it seems like these folks are still able to do consistent training.  TEACH ME YOUR WAYS!!  

And now back to grant writing... 

Comments

• Options
    Just my .02 Rachel, and probably not what your looking for, but.....I think you said something very profound, perhaps unknowingly, when you stated "I want to know how people SEEM to do it all here".