Home Community Forum 🏠
Options

EN and Local Tri Clubs - Anyone in Both?

I know many of you are also members of local tri clubs.  I'm new to triathlon and joined EN about 3 months ago. While participating at Ironman Chattanooga 70.3, I really enjoyed meeting a few EN teammates and communicating with many more during the course of the weekend - i.e. I really enjoyed the team aspect of the sport. I'm thinking of also joining a more local tri club to increase the number of teammates I have, especially in smaller, local races.

My question is this - how do you balance the two? It seems as though a lot of people join local tri clubs as a way to get started, find a training plan, coach, etc. I'm getting all of that and online team support via EN. Is it worth joining a local club just for camaraderie? Maybe I'm over thinking it, but would love to hear thoughts from some of you who are in multiple tri clubs.

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    I am a member of one local tri club and a coach with another/different one, both here in the Dallas area, as well as EN (obviously).

EN cannot support every single little race out there, across the country and world, so the support of a local tri team is really great. If you've ever trained for a long course event especially, the support of other local people to s/b/r with you all those times, I feel is critical to success!

I coach various club workouts with one club (mostly beginners) and frequently personally train with another (faster, more advanced folks, with beginners sprinkled in too). I participate with EN folks via camps, forums, fb and even personally with some members that I've known for years.

Some basic etiquette I try to adhere to: I try never to wear the uniform/kit of a different team/club to the other's workouts or events, as I don't want to be seen as poaching members. I wear my sponsor kits at races, local or larger, including where there's an EN contingent, because hey, that's what I'm getting "paid" for.