Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Larry Steinberg CdA 70.3 race plan

Hey all - I've been through this forum plus the site for race execution info. Execution has been a weakness of mine in the past and one of the main reasons for joining EN this year.  I've been racing tri's/multi-sport for ~26 years but mostly short course. Did a 70.3 19 years ago and IMCDA 8 years ago. Both were poorly executed and I suffered on the run. I'm bound to use 'patience and discipline' next weekend...

Swim: start slow/easy - move arms slowly I have to think. Use good technique and focus on using lats. Start pull with fingers; ladder drill.  Breath calmly, avoid swallowing air (problem at IM).

Bike: my FTP is 283 and I expect to ride around 3 hours. Target 80% power so 225 watts after 20 minutes of 200-210.  I pushed too hard on the 2nd race rehearsal (NP was 235; 83%) and struggled on the run. Need to back off this pace a bit - grateful I made the mistake practicing...  RR2 had 3900' of climbing and CdA has 3700' - will take the hills easier and plan on 'going backwards'.  Using infinit nutrition in 4 bottles plus a clif bar over the 3 hours. 

Run: I don't have a vdot as I didn't test. I have had some injuries and was focused on staying healthy during run training. @Coach Patrick put a plan together that worked out great - got my duration up to 4 hours a week, all zone 2, and no injuries... That said, pacing for the race is a little unknown. I did a couple of 8 milers at 9:45 pace, nervous that was my longest run but trust the process.

That said - keep the HR under 136 (upper Zone 2) and first 3 miles at 10mpm.  Walk 20 steps in each aide station. Sip water and take base salt. Clif blok every other mile until either low energy/blood sugar (take 1 every mile) or a stomach issue (stop eating).  Miles 3-8 - keep HR under 136 and pace should be 9:30+. Miles 8+: stay strong and keep moving.

Thanks in advance for the feedback.

Larry

Comments

• Options
    A few comments: