Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Bruce Read's Minneapolis LifeTime Tri Race Plan 2017

Race Prep Report

Minneapolis Lifetime Tri – July 8th.

International Distance

55 – 59 age group

I have VERY little experience to draw from so I have been reading and searching extensively through the EN site and there is an incredible amount of valuable info here.  This is my first International distance and second tri.  First was in May, a sprint, and I followed MY plan to a T and it was a horrible day.  Let’s just say there were so many learning opportunities I could have written a never ending novel!  This time I plan on remember the advice from the forums and Coach P.  Nerves can be an issue as I have not ever raced in anything before I joined EN and my first sprint this May.  Wife will be ready with the first aid kit and paddles just in case!

1.              First Goal – finish and still be running

2.              Second Goal – Not panic on the swim and stay in my box

3.              Third Goal – come in under 3hr 28min

Prep:

1.              Swam 1400 yards open water swim at event site.  Very important to me as I am not a strong swimmer and my first tri, sprint, this spring, I was completely unprepared for the physical aspect of the swim.  I felt like a bumper car and ended up panicing, heart rate way up and expended a great deal of energy.

2.              Ran the course – very flat no major concerns 

Night before:

1.              Sleep early

2.              Bags will be ready, checked and in car

3.              Bike will already be in T1 transition site

Race Day:

Breakfast – oatmeal, banana, protein shake, green tea.

Swim: Goal – 38mins

1.              Get warmed up – Very important for me as my heart rate goes way up at first if I can not get some type of warm up. 

2.              Learn from last race disaster – stay back and start slow.

3.              Get in my rhythm and remember to site

T1 Goal – 3 mins

1.              Stay calm and focused