Home Races & Places 🏁⛺
Options

70.3 Coeur D'Alene race report - John Katsoudas (run pacing with power experiment)

70.3 CdA was my “A” race this year and my first long-course triathlon since I raced Vineman 14 years ago.  I started training for triathlon again last July from a completely untrained and overweight state.  At the time, I weighed 188 pounds and couldn’t run one mile without the pain in my left foot flaring up that had plagued me chronically for over a year.  The first order of business was addressing body comp, and over the last year, I’ve worked my way down to 155 pounds, which is the lowest I’ve ever trained and raced at.  The last year of training has not been without its share of injury, illness, and competing priorities (holidays, travel, etc.).  The TrainingPeaks PMC doesn’t lie when it comes to illustrating gaps in consistency, but despite what the numbers and charts show I feel like it was a very successful and solid first year of training.  My primary goal for the season was to show up happy, healthy, and ready to race on race day.  All other intermediate season goals and race time goals were secondary to this, so in this regard, the season has been an unmitigated success.

I also wrote a blog for family and friends, along with some photos, which give an overview of the weekend:

Photo albums here and here

So this post will be primarily a race execution discussion.

Swim:
Goal:  40:00
Actual:  43.27