Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Mark Moore's IRONMAN LAKE PLACID 2018 Race Plan

IRONMAN LAKE PLACID 2018

This is my first Ironman or full distance Triathlon. I am 49 years old, 5’9” and 175lbs depending on what I had for breakfast. I have been doing triathlons for 6 years and have completed a 70.3 distance personal event. This is my race plan, please let me know if you have comments or suggestions.  

Night before race day.
No fiber meal.  Chicken, Pork or the like with rice or potatoes. Drink GE.

Charge Garmin Watch and bike computer

Race morning

Wake 4:30am (may change due to travel time to Transition area)

Yogurt smoothie, half a bagel with peanut butter. Small coffee, no more than 8oz.
Sip on a bottle of GE until ready to race.

Arrive at T1. Fill the aero bottle with water, fill frame bottle with GE. Put bottle GE and Repair kit in bottle cages behind the seat. Put Clif Blok in bento bag. Put bike computer on the bike. Put helmet and sunglasses on aero bars. Air up tires and double check gear choice.

Get body marking done. Continue to sip on GE. Have wife take lots of pictures of me with my EN swag on. Put on sunscreen. Put wetsuit on rolled at waste, heart rate strap on, swim cap, goggles, and earplugs in hand.

200yd warm-up

Swim

Seed myself with 1:30 swimmers group.  Stay calm, go out slow and steady. Keep thinking slower. Breath every third stroke. Sight every 20 breaths. Try to find a place with fewer swimmers. Exit the water tap watch to T1

T1

Goggles up, wetsuit unzipped, tag a peeler to get it off, stuff cap and goggles and earplugs in a leg fold suit. Grab Bag. Towel off. Bike Jersey on and zipped. Socks on, Shoes on. More Sunscreen. Wetsuit into bag. Handoff suit and bag to volunteer with a gift card. Get to bike. Wake up computer and pedals. Helmet and sunglasses on.

Bike