Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

IMWISC-Race Execution Plan

IMWISC Race Plan

Hey gang....heading into the week before IMWISC. I'm super stoked to get an opportunity to share the race weekend with such an amazing team! My main three goals (as always) are to 1.) stay process oriented, 2.) execute 4 keys and 3.) keep a smile on my face/have fun! I've never done this race before so I'm looking forward to new sights, logistics, and all of the unique challenges of the Wisconsin course. Within those my race specific goals:

Implement tweaks to streamline transition- This will be my first full using a full trisuit and not dilly-dallying around changing clothes in transition before the run. I'm going to so miss my favorite LuLuLemon running shorts (I know...sad!) I think @Jeremy Behler called it "low-hanging fruit" when he mentioned grabbing some free minutes by streamlining transitions. I've also practiced my transitions and taken out a few things/steps. We shall see if I can nab some low hanging grape flavored transition minutes. haha

Swim/Bike-don't overcook. Swim-slow & smooth. Bike: Added a 11-30 cassette so I'd have a little wiggle room in a lower gear to spin up three bitches. Going to be extra conservative this race. Climb like a ninja. Just be patient. Manage Watts/HR. Hopefully a conservative bike will give me room to have a balanced run.

Run- Main focus right here. Steady and pushing within my means through mile 18. Use my orange-mud vest with front liquid flask/nutrition to reduce temptation to slow too much during aid stations. Dig deep and actually push mile 18 to end. yes....attempting to go beyond the not slowing down. Hopefully have paced well up through 18 to give a push and enjoy running past people the last 8 miles. I love that feeling. (insert little grin here). HR focus instead of perceived exertion. New. (Coach P if you're reading...I know...I know...I'm evolving :))!!!.

Thurs- Travel excitement but Keep Calm Day