Homeβ€Ί General Training Discussions
Options

Nutrition and Hydration question

I am relatively new to endurance sports. I completed my first marathon last year. Now I am interested in improving performance rather than just finishing. As I learn more I am realizing in training nutrition and hydration are critical. I have a few questions if anyone can help.

1) I sweat A LOT during training. 90 minute run I loose about 5 lbs (usually consume 24 ounces during that time). Is there a formula or way to figure out what an ideal fluid intake would be for me (i.e. how much fluid I should be aiming for)?

2) What sort of electrolyte mixture (either brand or composition) should I be using?

3) What sort of energy source do people recommend and how often to consume it during training?

Thanks,

Tim

Comments

• Options

First off, let me say that this topic is highly personal. What works for someone else might (and probably will) NOT work for you.

Second, each of us have to come to our own conclusions using real-life testing. That includes things such as sweat tests as well as trial-and-error with both hydration and nutrition, separately or together. Unfortunately, this sometimes also means expense, because trying a product - more than once - requires buying it.

With that said, let me briefly share my 15+ year journey. I started with regular gatorade, like most did back then, I imagine. That quickly moved to Accelerade for both hydration and nutrition in one. I then moved to Infinit custom mixes, which was a bit of a cost investment as I found a mix that seemed to work for me. Well, that didn't last long, as I figured out real quick that having even minimal calories within my drink/hydration, that it was still too much for my gut to handle. If I ingested calories every time I needed to drink, my gut quickly shut down.