Home General Training Discussions
Options

Athlete Gets Numb Between Big and Second Biggest Toe When Running

@Jim Moore Has tried orthotics, bigger shoes, voodoo and praying to the Goddess of Great Running to no avail.

He has settled on it being a nerve issue, curious to know if any of you have dealt with this... and if so, how?

Thanks team! 👍

~ Coach P

Comments

• Options
    edited March 27, 2019 9:02PM

I had a bad case of Morton's neuroma a few years ago, which materialized as "hot foot", not numb foot. Mostly while cycling.

Undoubtedly, in my mind, numb toes can be attributed to the same root cause, swollen and/or impinged nerve between the toes, but I'm no doctor nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night.

To fix my hot foot, I went through multiple stages, including orthotics, steroid shots, new shoes, electro-shock'ing to kill the nerves, then ultimately surgery...bilateral neuroma excision. A few weeks in some space shoes, doing no exercise, even getting to take showers in rubber banded plastic socks to keep my feet dry, and I was good to go.

Ever since then, no problems except for some weird looking scars on my feet, which is a non-issue.

• Options

@Paul Hough Similar to your issues?

I got something like this when biking DAILY x 70 miles a long time ago...solution was to move my cleat position so that the ball of my big toe no longer was the weight bearing spot - moved my foot forward on the pedal.

• Options

has he try toe spacer ? i had toe issues and PT told me to do so and i am wearing it while sleeping since a year and all good since.

• Options

@Jim Moore I've got a neuroma in my left foot that I've battled on and off for years and like Scott above I tried many options to fix. My pain initially started to present itself on longer runs and bike rides (after 90 min). It then got to the point where I couldn't walk barefoot, anywhere, ever, without sharp pain.