Home General Training Discussions

Pickle Juice and it's effect on endurance training/racing

No clue if this source is credible, but the first time I hear this was on the "Science of Ultra" Podcast. And then again, more recently in a youtube video featuring Courtney Dauwalter. And people, if you dont know who Courtney Dauwalter is, google her. IMO she is THE most badass ultra runner bar none.

Discuss-

Comments

• not to be the first one to comment on my own post but...

"Courtney Dauwalter (born February 13, 1985) is an American ultramarathon runner. She finished the Moab 240 race in 2 days, 9 hours, and 59 minutes, faster than any of the men in the pack and beating the second-place finisher by more than 10 hours."

• The effectiveness of Pickle Juice is old news; I've been touting its benefits on EN for many years. The stuff is disgusting, but after years of cramping I finally threw in the towel and tried it after nothing else worked. However, I buy the slightly smoother tasting garbage from here: https://www.picklepower.com/

For a hot race, I drink one the night before and the morning of the race. I will also take a PickleJuice "shot" in T1 and T2 and put another in my special needs bag for the run.

• @Paul Hough first of all : "Tampa, Florida (suck it!)" is awesome! Personally I hate Florida, but if you love where you're from or living, sing it's praise baby!!

More importantly, am I reading this correctly? At first you were just straight up pickle juice (like from a jar of pickles from the grocery) and then you went to https://www.picklepower.com/ ?

And you never mentioned if you like it or love it (in terms of its effectiveness)?

"The effectiveness of Pickle Juice is old news;" I am sure this is so true as I am usually extremely late to the party :)

This weekend is my last big weekend of training with 4hrs on Saturday and 5hrs on Sunday. I'd like to give it a try on those runs if needed if you can vouch for it's effectiveness.

CAN SOMEONE SECOND PAUL??