Home General Training Discussions
Options

Best Bike for ME Based on Geometry...

Hey, EN'ers!

I got a Retül Bike Fit last week and pulled that data against a few popular entry level Tri-bikes ($2.5-3K range). Based on my geometry - what feedback do you experts have for me in my decision making? And are there any factors I'm not weighing? Thanks, guys!

Comments

• Options

Added Quintanaroo, Argon 18 - and almost forgot Ventum!

• Options

@Matthew Goto this is awesome man. I will do a similar for this summer for a new road bike. I've always been a Trek fan and Speed Concept has been a best in class forever.

I have no experience with any of these so besides my voyeuristic watching of this thread I'll be no help. hahah sorry-

I'm interested to see what you choose though

• Options

great summary, @Matthew Goto. I'm just trying to understand the table - is this native stack and reach, or is it measured to the pads in all cases?

Absent that information, my votes are QR, Canyon, Ventum, in that order.

What's more revealing is just how much bike you can buy for less than 3G. Today's 105 is an incredible group, and these entry-level bikes surpass superbikes from even 5-8 years ago.

• Options

I agree with @Dave Tallo These days you can get a LOT of bike for a fraction of what you could have years ago. And yes the middle of the road group sets (i.e.) 105's are really really good. 105's are basically Ultegra's just a little heavier.

Unless you are a Top 5 (or 3) AG'er (which a lot of us EN'ers are), the gains per $100 or $1000 spent are so slim it doesn't make sense. You are better off dropping some weight and increasing your power/weight ratio.

A lot of guys in Europe ride Canyon and they are so sweet looking.

• Options

@Matthew Goto - I've never understood the tables, I am assuming the ones that you don't fully fit, will fit with pad/ cockpit adjustment?