Home General Training Discussions

What's The "Best" Way To Measure Work in a Cycling Workout?

Earlier this year I started training for the odd ITU distance of 3k/120k/30k. It's not a combo that comes up very often, and in fact in 20 years of triathlon, I'd only done it once before, two years earlier. So instead of having a fairly intuitive sense of how much and what type of work to do, garnered from scores of races and training cycles for all the standard triathlon distances, I was at a loss for what might work best. Coach P got me on track by asking, "So what worked the last time you did this?"

The problem was compounded by the radical difference between the two courses. The first time I did that distance, it was flat and fast, and I went about 3:53; the course this year was totally hilly, and 6 miles shorter. I expected to be out there for up to an hour more. But I didn't want to be any more tired for the run. I turned to kilojoules for help, noting that I'd done 2035 the first time, and so I aimed all my long rides, be they outdoors, inside, hard or easy, to come in at about the same #. The reason I picked that was it was easily available - it's one of the three metrics (the other two are time and distance) which appears on the log page of PowerAgent, the app where I can easily find all of my bike rides.

Turns out, when normalized for the distance difference, I did pretty much the same amount of work: 2000 kj compared to 2035. That got me to thinking, maybe I should be looking at kj more than I do, in addition to all the other metrics: NP, Avg P, TSS, and the cumulative numbers for acute and chronic training load, training stress balance which are calculated from each workout's TSS, which itself is calculated from the ride's NP, which is derived from the AP, which comes from...kilojoules.