Homeβ€Ί General Training Discussions
Options

Upturned vs flat base bar ends

I was planning to finally upgrade the front end of my 2015 P2 this winter, moving to a bar like the Tririg Alpha One for better aerodynamics and adjustability. But I am having second thoughts about moving to a base bar with flat ends at the brake levers. While I spend my races in the aerobars, in training I am often dealing with traffic, hills, curves, and other road conditions that require being in the base bar. Add in rain or sweat and I could see my hands slipping off the end of a flat bar (or just not being able to brace as effectively).

Others who have dealt with this, what was your experience? I could go to the flat bar and increase grip with something like racquet overgrip, or add a grip with a bulge like the Felt Tri Tip, or instead choose a bar with upturned ends like the Prosvet or Aeria T4.

Thanks!

Tagged:

Comments

• Options

@Mike Westover I have no experience with flat bar grips, but I do have some thoughts after riding my QR PR6 the past three years. First off, I have weakened forearms, and the upturn at the end of my Prosvet bar gives me both confidence and a feeling similarity with my road bike. Second, any slight aero advantage there might be from the flat vs up curved profile seems outweighed by issues of safety and comfort, unless I were trying to nudge my bike split from, say, 5:01 to 5:00.

• Options

@Al Truscott agreed that any aero advantage from the flat grips is likely small, and may even be outweighed by having more confidence descending and cornering. And with over 90% of my miles on this bike on open roads in training, I have the same bias toward safety and comfort.