Home Racing Forum 🏎

Anna Stanbaugh Traverse City 70.3 Race Report

edited August 28, 2019 5:46PM in Racing Forum 🏎

My goals were as usual: finish, have fun and I was hoping for an improvement compared to previous races (even though I took a year off triathlon) 

Finished 6:21:12 PR by ca. 15 min 

I had late start to the training season because of trying to get well after several injuries from running and skiing. I started training in February. Last year, I focused on running, so I hadn’t biked for 1.5 years and hadn’t swam for about 2. So, I had to adjust the plan focusing on biking first and incorporating more and more running. I didn’t swim much as usual, but I did some Vasa workouts. 

Pre-Race:

Thursday: rode the first hill on the bike course with Rich 

Friday: 3 mi easy run 

Saturday: went to bed around 10:00 pm 

Race: Sunday morning: 

Wake-up 3:30 am, got ready, breakfast, off to transition with Rich: set up transitions, walked to swim start.

Swim: 49:39 (PR by ca. 1 min)

Seeded myself in the 42-45 group. I was hoping for a faster swim based on training swims and previous IM performance so I was a little disappointed. The swim was smooth and consistent. Not much contact. Not sure why I was so slow.  

T1: 06:24

Jogged to the bike, tried to get the sand off my feet, put on bike shirt, vest, arm warmers, socks, shoes, fixed my hair, put on the helmet, took a nap... (need to work on that…)

Bike: 3:23:28 

Based on my planned power and best bike split (3:20) about what expected. 

Target NP was easy until the first hill, then 150-170 on the hill, rest 125 NP (pushing 150 on hills 3-4% and up to 170 on 6-8%). I did OK on the bike. I considered pushing harder because it felt good, but I was worried about the run later and stuck to the plan. Bike course was busy with many inexperienced bikers and everybody was drafting the entire time! Head wind on the way back. Oh well. 

Nutrition: as planned: about 3+ bottles of Gatorade and 6 gels.