Home Coaching Forum 🧢
Options

Keith Shireman Micro Thread 2020

So I'm nearing the end of the Outseason and I'm looking at what's next as I continue towards IM Tulsa. According to the plan @Coach Patrick has for me:

On 2/3/2020 Load the -- Swim Camp to end on 2/9/2020 - On 2/10/2020 Load the -- Bike Focus Block, 2019 (6wks) to end on 3/22/2020 - On 3/9/2020 Load the -- EN Full Run Focused to end on 5/31/2020 - On 6/1/2020 Load the Post Ironman Transition Plan, All Levels (4wks) to end on 6/28/2020

So looking at Swim Camp do I continue the lower run times that are posted instead of continuing the higher mileage that was built up during the Outseason? What about the bike? Times spent on the bike is at 2.5 hrs now and the plan shows only 1 hr rides. I guess I'm just concerned about not keeping the higher mileage up and continuing on towards the full distance. BTW I'm not a newbie. This is my 7th year receiving coaching from EN. Plans change every year so I want to make the best of this in May.

Comments

• Options

Keith, thanks for reaching out. I know that you’re not a newbie… For some reason your name always sticks in my head like you are so mythical hero who works with Robin Hood. 🤷‍♂️

Anyway, enough of my issues! The whole reason we have swim camp in there is to give your body a break. It’s important to have the workload drop off a bit so your body can consolidate it’s Fitness, before pushing on words into the last half of your season. Swim camp was created to give you something to do that would also allow you to rest. When I tell our athletes to rest, they completely ignore me. So I guess you could say swim camp is meant to be some kind of evil trick.