Home General Training Discussions
Options

JOS 2020 Bike Week 10 - Where is the FTP?

Okay, just getting this one started. I am sure Scott can add in some sort of motivational post when he has a chance.

Comments

• Options

Got the FTP test done today, VO2 test went from 278 last time to 305. FTP went from 237 to 252. VO2 as a percentage of FTP went from 1.17 to 1.21 so all of that VO2 work worked.

• Options

Great job @Bill Eckert! 15 watts is a nice gain!

I did the TrainerRoad 20 minute test again, which is pretty much the EN test except it has a 5 minute "clearing effort" with a target of 1.10 in place of the VO2 max test (but with only a 5 minute rest before the 20 minute effort instead of 10). I hadn't read the EN protocol closely enough so as a newbie, I've been mystified by the VO2 max test result people have been referring to in some of the bike threads until just figuring it out reading your post. :)

My ftp went up 10 watts from the last test. With so little work near threshold recently, I wasn't sure exactly what to expect on this one, but I'm very happy with that.

• Options

I'm liking what @Bill Eckert and @Mark McCombe wrote above. Looks like work works. Congratulations.

I didn't read the training plan for the week ahead of time and I wasn't mentally prepared for a FTP test today. I was scheduled to have minor surgery to remove a basal skin cancer on my nose so I did last weeks 5X3' Vo2 workout before going into the doctor's office. I hit all 5 at 1.17 and it didn't feel too taxing except for the last 30 seconds of the last one so perhaps there's a FTP boost in my near future. That test will have to wait a while since the surgeon told me no intensity for a few days because of the risk of bleeding. It was the first time I'd met him and he's a triathlete so he understands. He said I could be back in the pool in 8-9 days.

• Options