Homeโ€บ General Training Discussions
Options

Building Leg Strength

In all honesty, I'm shaped a bit like Mr. Potato Head (if he actually had legs). My core is sturdy, but my appendages are lanky. Never really concerned me before, but now I have a goal to dramatically increase my FTP.

I started training for Triathlon 2 years ago, and have made a lot of progress. My form is getting better, my workout and race planning is getting smarter and my fitness is great... but I am concerned that my body doesn't naturally put on weight easily, and that is limiting my ability to build leg strength. But TRYING to gain weight is pretty counter to my former approach of dropping weight while maintaining strength to get higher w/kg...

Could I develop a nutrition plan, in conjunction with a heavy cycling routine (ie. OutSeason), that would be conducive to adding muscle mass in my legs/glutes to help expedite FTP development? Or, should I just keep chugging along... work hard & eat healthy, and let nature take its course?

Curious if anyone else has attempted anything like this?

Tagged:

Comments

• Options
    edited October 18, 2020 9:25PM

@Rob Tune I hear your pain! LOL.

(usual disclainers re not being a coach etc)

IMO, the best strategy is