Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

missed IMAZ RR#1

Hi...  I am not sure the best place to put this post so I apologize if this is not the proper spot.  (I don't think it is but I had to start somewhere.  Please help me re-direct if needed!)  Ultimately my question is about race execution and the practice leading up to it, so here goes... 

First, I missed the RR this week.  I've been battling hip/gluteal pain that had me completely sidelined for a solid two weeks.  I even had to stop swimming because it hurt to kick.  It hurt to walk.  It was ridiculous.  It's been two days that I can now walk without pain in every step.  (woohoo!)  The race rehersal was of course off the table.  I know that since I am only beginning to heal there is really no way to answer this definitively...  (I also realize that ultimately I have to listen to by body and my instincts)  After taking into consideration what my body is telling me (which is hopefully not overly clouded by my mind) are there other good guidelines to assess your preparedness for a) RR #2 and b) the actual race? 

My fear at the moment is that trying RR#2 might be too much of a hit on the hips, simply because I have this big two week gap in my training.  However, that is still 3 weeks away so it really is too early to tell.  Then of course, the big grand fear is about knowing if I can get to the starting line at all. 

I did IMAZ last year, and that was my first ironman.  This IMAZ will be my second.  On the beginniner plan and I was hoping to do better this year, but I have also let that go out in the window in favor of just getting to the starting line (safely). 

I know that ultimately I have to wait and see for more data from my body, but I wanted to just get my fears out here in hopes that feedback will help alleviate the amount that they are chewing on me... 

Thanks so much... 

Comments

• Options