Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

first IM - race day plan (for IMFL)

Hi - was hoping to get some feedback on my race plan.  I've run this by a few people already and made some tweaks based on their excellent advice (thanks to Nemo, Kit, Suzanne - and a DC Tri friend)...

off the top, I do have a few questions since I'm new to this dance:  (1)  is there a time towards the end of the bike that I should stop taking in Infinit (that has protein) to prep for the run?  if so, when?  and why?  (2) along the same lines - is there a transition period when I get on the bike when I shouldn't try to stomach the infinit or am I safe to go ahead and drink it at my first 15' alarm?  I feel like I read somewhere that there is a protocol, but I don't remember/can't find it.  (3) and MOST IMPORTANTLY - I'd really appreciate some advice re: what to do if I have GI issues or cramping issues on the bike or run.  I've been really lucky (or unlucky, depending on how you look at it) to not have experienced any problems like this during any marathon, any HIM RR (when it was wicked hot this summer), any HIM, or my 2 IM RRs... so I'm not entirely sure what I could/should do and it's hard to visualize a solution to a problem I've not had to deal with. 

OK, here's my race plan.  sorry this is long.  I did it as a word doc so I can keep it, edit it, and use it for future races (as opposed to a google doc).  Thanks for your time and feedback!

RACE DAY

1:30am smoothie

4:30am wakeup

eat (coffee, bagel, pnut butter, banana)

sunscreen

body glide neck, arms, feet, wrists, ankles, chamois

get dressed

bag balm any place that wet suit will rub (neck!!)

WHAT I NEED BEFORE LEAVING ROOM:

wetsuit

goggles

cap

2 SN bags (filled)

1 infinit bottle for bike

2 water bottles to fill speedfil

Garmin (either on or for bike gear bag)

water to drink

gel x2 (pre-swim, lap 1)

dry clothes bag (to drop off/give to Dan – after I put on wetsuit/take off clothes)

5:30ish go to transition

go to body marking