Home General Training Discussions
Options

Power Software for Mac

I am about to purchase my PT from Rich and I realized that WKO+ is NOT compatible with the Mac.  My entire life runs on a Mac, both business and home.  I'm looking for recommendation for a software analysis tool that will work with the Mac.  Does anyone just use the PowerAgent software that comes from Saris (and is free with a PT purchase)?

Thanks in advance for the input!

Comments

• Options

A lot of Mac users will use something like Parallels or VMware Fusion to run Windows virtually on their Macs. PowerAgent does not provide the same level of information as WKO.

• Options

If I remember correctly, both R&P are Mac guys and run WKO as Matt describes.  Get WKO- Power Agent just doesn't perform the same function

• Options
    I run WKO and Sports Trac on my Mac with parallels. The latter is able to do power stuff but I'm still new at it and playing. image
  • Options

Ah, as a new powermeter user and mac owner, I just played this game:

1. I use VM Ware Fusion. It behaves beautifully. Plus, it is fun to see little PC icons in the Mac dock.

2. When you install a new version of Windows, DO NOT CHOOSE 64-bit Windows 7. At least not yet. Powertaps and 64-bit Windows 7 are not friends. Saris keeps promising a patch, but it is long overdue. 32-bit Windows 7 is fine.

3. Bonus prize: If you have a Garmin, running Garmin Training Center on the PC side works way better. GTC for Mac = scary.

• Options

I am curious that if the Joule comes out from Saris with IF, TSS, etc if that means Power Agent will start to incorporate those metrics and by extension if they will become available on the Mac through updated versions of Power Agent.

• Options