Home General Training Discussions
Options

A watt is a watt, or not?

To set the stage for my questions: I'm Oct OS and have been doing all my rides on the trainer most for expediency because I live in HI and we can ride year round here. Daylight is frequently an issue for me too though. So I haven't ridden longer than 19 trainer miles and 1:15 since March and am concerned with the build up for St George so I figured I should start doing the outdoor option as often as I can over the rest of the OS. I'm also a relative power newbie- owned it and 'used it' mostly as an expensive bike computer from June 2008 until mid-Sept when I started a little pre-season prep for OS. My FTP is around 182 with 95-100% 173-182, 80-85% 143-155 and Z5 200+ on the trainer and I can hit those.

1. Why didn't I hit the targets on the road today?

2X14 Z4 150, 146 at 17.3, 18.6 mph

2X3 Z5 168, 156 at 20.9, 20.1 mph

2(3)X15 ABP 138, 130, 119 at 17.8, 18.3, 18.8 mph

On trainer I hit over 200 wts for 19.2+ mph, 183 for 17.5 mph, 153 for 16.7 mph from recent workout. The heart rate ranges from today's outdoor ride match the indoor intervals pretty closely so I don't think I was totally sandbagging it. I rode an out and back on relatively flat roads with relatively little wind for here. I tried to ride 'steady' but that brings me to the next question