Home Community Forum 🏠
Options

Try a Du?

Hey, team--

So I get this flyer in the mail the other day for the National Duathlon Festival Championship in Richmond, VA in April (which I'm guessing a lot of you guys received).

I've never tried a duathlon before and am somewhat intrigued (especially since swimming isn't my strong suit).  For all you ENers who have done one, are they fun?  Nice change of pace?  Any downsides or injury risks?  The distance is 5k run, 38k bike, 5k run so kind of like an Oly tri without the swim. 

I live a couple of hours from Richmond and it seems like it might be kinda cool just to go do it for fun and treat it like a mega-brick workout (i.e. no special build or taper).  And a $75 registration fee ain't too bad.

Thoughts?

-Chris

Comments

• Options

I have done a bunch of them, the hard part is not boggering the first run, most people tend to go out to hard. Other that that you have it right I treat it like a hard brick.

Have at it.

• Options

I did DU Nationals in Richmond last year, here is the report:  www.endurancenation.us/en_forums/showthread.php

I've actually registered for it again this year- although I'm still waffling (plan to do the OBX Half Mary the week before).  That said, this DU would be a great little tune-up for Eagleman (which, dear God, I think I'm doing again this year).  It's a much harder effort speed wise- but you recover quickly because the distance just won't beat you up too much.  Like Steve said- the biggest issue is that first run and pacing it right.

EDIT:  Sorry the link above was my race PLAN, here is the link to the race REPORT: http://www.endurancenation.us/en_fo...php?t=7152

• Options
    i vote you do it! when I get sick of this trying to learn to swim stuff I will someday do a du as well.
  • Options

Good stuff!  I'm leaning toward giving it a try.  Will report back if I take the plunge!

-Chris

• Options