Home Summer HIM Training 2012 Group Discussion - Summer HIM Training 2012
Options

Introductions

Team --

If you're checking into this group, please take a moment and introduce yourself.

- Name, AG

- What's on your race schedule this year? What are your fitness and/or race goals?

- What training plan you're on and with what end date

- Any other info folks would find interesting...

Cheers,

Matt

Comments

• Options

Ok, I'll go first (I'm the only group member at the moment, so this could be absurd...)

- Matt Aaronson, M3539. Married, 2 kids (girls ages 4 & 7). I'm a management consultant so I travel a lot. I am constrained by time vs. money or motivation. In the last year since I've been doing triathlon I've accumulated an impressive collection of Garmin maps from workouts in far-flung places. The map collecting is starting to be a hobby...yes, strange...

- My race plan for 2012 is a bit uncertain. I really like racing but by September last year I was pretty burned out. So this year I'm planning to move the schedule up a bit. I'm targeting 70.3 Kansas (June 10) as an early season race. I also plan to do a local Olympic-distance at Pleasant Prairie WI on June 24. Then 70.3 Racine in July which I did last year. I happen to be renting a vacation house within 30 minutes of Steelhead to that will be hard to resist in August, as will the Chicago Tri which everyone loves to hate but it's in my backyard so I can't stand seeing everyone race that weekend and not partake. But other than Kansas, Pleasant Prairie and Racine everything really is TBD. There is a good chance that after Racine I take a month off then transition into marathon training and try to run my first ever marathon in Chicago in October. And then there are a couple of wildcards...a Vegas slot (unlikely but an outside chance) or winning the Kona Lottery which is the only way my wife will let me train for an Ironman...