Home Races & Places 🏁⛺
Options

Race Plan

Hello everyone!

I am extremely new to Endurance Nation - less than a week under my belt, so I believe Syracuse 70.3 will be my base starting point.

I have completed Syracuse 70.3 twice - in 2011 and 2013.  I am not in good shape right now, and actually considered not participating, but decided I would rather be very slow than a "did not try".

For the swim, the goal is to stay on course.  I usually spend a fair amount of effort getting off course and returning to the shortest distance to complete the swim.  This is usually in order to avoid the other swimmers, so I need to get into the zone of using the drag and enjoy being part of the main action as opposed to hanging off on the side swimming lots of extra strokes to get to the end.

I want to stay focused on a good transition, even though when I get done with my swim (usually 48-50 minutes), all the other bikes around me are gone, which is not usually good mentally, but I am not going to let it bother me on Sunday.

I like the bike route.  It has a solid 12 mile climb, but once you get to the top, the rest of the ride is actually quite nice.  It is not as challenging as Placid once you get past the beginning (and it is nice to know you don't need to do the loop twice)!  There are two quick hills that I want to be prepared for.  Should be a fun ride - hoping to complete it in less than 3:30 without killing myself.  I need to be aware that on the end of the bike, I will see lots of people running and finishing the race.  Do not let that depress me - I am doing the race for myself - not all the people that are way ahead of me.