Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman Maryland
Options

Riding Inside vs Outside

Morning All!

Curious what people think about riding inside vs. outside.  I know there are strong opinions on both sides of this debate. For me I think riding more inside is going to be a necessity because of time.  I also find my work is more honest on the trainer than outside.  But, then I get nervous that I haven't ridden outside enough.  Also, when you ride outside are you riding ti-bike or road bike?  I am new to my trip bike so need to get use to handling it but it really isn't conducive to the hilly, narrow roads where I live - I am popping in/out of aero constantly.  Any thoughts?

Sarah

Comments

• Options
    Hi Sarah! The trainer is certainly a very valuable tool that can help you get in a really solid workout in a short period of time and without a lot of extra admin time. For me, it's particularly great when the days are short and daylight is limited or when the weather is crappy. But I find that no matter how much more "honest" my workout is on the trainer, I can always push myself harder outside. So my preference is to ride outside whenever possible. From a time management perspective, I think doing the weekday rides on the trainer and the weekend rides outside is a good balance. And yeah- you just won't get comfortable with the handling of a TT bike unless you start riding it outside.