Home Community Forum 🏠
Options

Peter's 2016 Goals

Since Patrick laid it all out there, I guess I can too. 

I am going to have quite a different 2016. I need to take a step back from Triathlon to spend more time with my family. I have two young children and training all 3 disciplines is just too much at this time. Additionally, my youngest son who is only 4 months old has some congenital heart defects and is going to be having open heart surgery within the next few months. His official diagnosis is Tetrology of Fallot. Thankfully his condition is correctable. Shaun White actually had the same thing as a baby. Since I am not a Doctor and I feel pretty helpless going through this whole process I have decided to do what I can and use running to try and raise money for children with congenital heart defects in impoverished areas where they lack proper treatment. 

For 2016 I have three big races all leading up to the AC 100 in August, which is a tough 100 mile run right in our backyard here in Southern California. The first race is the Avalon 50 miler, which is really just punching my AC 100 card because you need a qualifying race. My next big race is the Boston Marathon where I really hope to go Sub 3:00. And finally for the AC 100 of course it will be a big accomplishment just to finish, but the dream is to go Sub 24 hours. 

I am trying my best to optimize my time and make running as transparent to my family as possible. For example I have shifted the training plan by 2 days which means I run to work on Thursdays as my long run, and I will always take Saturday off. Sleeping in and making pancakes with my kid is really important to me. (I also really love pancakes). My family has gotten behind me with my fundraising effort, a bunch of them are going to run a Turkey Trot, and I think my wife might try her first half marathon. 

Anyway, 2016 will sure be an adventure! 

(Look out for me in 2017 as a triathlete again)

Comments

• Options