Home Racing Forum 🏎 140.6 Forums Ironman Hawaii (Kona)
Options

Wheels for Kona (or the Wheel Deal)

Background: This is my first trip to IM Kona and my goal is to take it all in and finish the race. I've been riding bikes for over 50 years. I started racing bikes in high school in the 70's and I was a bicycle test rider for a year (dream job) where my main job was to see if I could break bikes in the field. I like climbing mountain passes just so I can fly down the other side. I practice bike handling skills pretty much daily in my commute and I consider my bike handling skills well above normal. 

I have a new Cervelo P3 that handles really well. I have a Flo 60 on the front and a DT Swiss 35 with a disc cover on the back (powertap hub). I usually put the disc cover on about 6 weeks out from my first race and then leave it on until my last race of the year. Since I've been running the Flo 60 I've noticed that the bike handles better with the disc cover on than with it off. 

The conundrum: Since I can't use the disc cover at Kona and since my rear wheel is my power meter, what should I use for wheels at Kona? Besides looking dorky, I don't want to run the Flo 60 without the disc in the back because of the poorer handling mentioned above. I've been hit with some pretty strong side gusts when going fast (bike speed 30+ mph with the disc on back) and have handled them OK but I must admit that it's given me a bit of an adrenaline boost, and not in a good way. Reading about the possible side winds at Kona through the gaps has me wondering about wheel selection.