Home General Training Discussions
Options

Plantar Fasciitis

Hello all- I've developed some plantar fasciitis pain in my left foot. (I've had it before, many years ago, so I know what it is. I haven't been to a doctor yet this time). It doesn't hurt at all when I bike, run or swim, but only AFTER I run. I can walk no problem (I did 19 mile hilly hike with no issues) but for a couple days after I run, it's awful, especially first thing in the morning. I do work on a really hard surface. I have lightweight running shoes (Kinvara) and am landing more on my fore/midfoot with shorter strides, which has helped my back pain that I used to have.

Does anyone have any ideas? I am going to try to go to the doctor and get P.T. or orthotics/night braces, whatever, but i thought I'd get some advice on here. Maybe I need more supportive shoes and/or land further back on my foot?

Comments

• Options
    Laura, I'm no doctor but have dealt with that issue a bunch myself. And it is always the worst first thing in the morning and after running when you have been off it a bit. I would say going to see a PT would be the best. There are things I was told to do that work for me and they will likely show you the same things. That will likely be easier than me trying to describe them to you. 
  • Options
    Laura,
    I've dealt with this issue and have tried many things.  For me the thing that I have found most useful is stretching, and lower calf massage combined with my hot tub.  I also will ice my foot as well, rolling the calf up to the hamstrings. 

Other things I've noted are, speed work or increasing distance quickly can bring on the soreness.  The changing of the foot strike may or may not be contributing but move to a fore/midfoot may have put addition stress on the calf muscles. 
  • Options