Home Races & Places 🏁⛺
Options

Tim Sullivan's 703. CDA Race Report

70.3 Race report

Intro:

Last year, I completed the 2016 CDA 70.3 as my first triathlon ever. For that first triathlon, my goals were to finish the 70.3 and enjoy myself doing it.  I was using the first 70.3 last year as a barometer as to whether I wanted to invest the time into training for an IM. My effort level for that race was a long slow training day effort (about 2 hours slower than this race).  Nothing was hard. 

I did enjoy myselft so I started training a little harder starting in September, 2016 (on my own) and then joined EN around December when I was hunting for a training plan.  After training the EN way, I completed IM Texas in April in 11:31 ran the entire marathone and enjoyed myself in the process. I figured it was better to enjoy myself than to push too hard and have a miserable experience my first IM. 

Now on to the current race.  This is my fifth triathlon (2nd 70.3, 1 IM, a sprint and an Oly).

Goals – Try to push myself more in this race.

Arrival:

My family spends about a month up in the NW in the summer to avoid the Texas heat.  We arrived Tuesday evening and got settled in.  I did some runs, a swim or two, and a bike ride before the Sunday race.

Overall:

IRONMAN® 70.3 Coeur d'Alene 2017

Tim Sullivan

M50-54 - USA

Div.                  Gen.     Ovr.      Swim    Bike                  Run                  Overall             

30/115             288      395      41:46   02:47:04          01:52:49          05:31:1           

Weather: Weather for the race was good. Lake was smooth (for CDA), little wind, and heat didnt come until latter part of the run.

Swim:

https://www.strava.com/activities/1054108235