Home Racing Forum 🏎
Options

Scott Schneider's 2018 IMSR Race Plan

edited April 23, 2018 5:12AM in Racing Forum 🏎

General Information:

Height/Weight: 6’04”/221lbs

FTP: 247

Experience: 4 HIM, most recently Oceanside 70.3 on April 7th. DNF at mile 11 of the run at IMCDA in 2016.

I started training with EN last year after completing IMAZ 70.3. I did two Run Durability, a full Outseason, and have been following the Run-focused Full Plan L1.

Goal: FINISH, preferably with a smile on my face. My DNF at Coeur D’Alene hit me hard – those of you who have experienced it I’m sure can relate. I am extremely focused on finishing this race!

My family will be driving up to Santa Rosa with me from San Diego. My kids are really excited, and I am happy to have them there to share in this experience. They had a blast at IMCDA and can’t wait to be IronKids again.

Race Day Plan:

Wake up around 03:30. Powerbar, banana, Naked Juice, coffee. Start sipping sports drink. Shuttle down to Transition.

At Transition area, get body marking, continue sipping sports drink/bathroom break. Start putting on wetsuit (if wetsuit swim) Planning on sleeveless X-Terra with mirrored goggles.

Swim:

Line up with 1:30 crowd for rolling start. About 15 minutes out, one gel chased with some H20.

Smooth and steady, frequent sighting if visibility poor. Stay relaxed and count strokes. Goal - 1:30

T1:

From what I have read, at the swim exit there is a super-steep, long boat ramp you make your way to the top of. Wetsuit strippers at the top. I am going to walk up the ramp to keep my heart rate down. Work wetsuit down to hips on the way. Use the wetsuit strippers. Make way to changing tent. Helmet, sunglasses, arm coolers, socks, bike shoes, GO.

BIKE: