Homeโ€บ Races & Places ๐Ÿโ›บ
Options

Julien's first Ironman at Mont Tremblant Race Report

Background: this is my first year in EN and the main objective of the year was to complete my first ironman at Mont Tremblant. Prior to that I have done 3 70.3s completing in low 6hrs. I have felt that the full would be a serious stretch but started building some confidence over the year.

Race week: I arrived in Tremblant on Wednesday and stayed in a condo very close to transition. There are lots of activities and the family was kept busy. I followed the recommendations from EN on the areas to do the training rides / runs, I bumped twice into Lionel Sanders then - he may have access to our wiki :-) I also did a training swim in the lake which was nice and clear. They had a coffee boat there too.

Race day: The main objective was obviously to finish, hopefully with a smile, go by feel as to how much to chase minutes throughout the day. Reading all the EN information, I felt I had the right mindset and focus on execution.

Swim: 1h14 (expecting around 1h20 to 1h30) Start was delayed due to fog. The whole swim was really busy especially the first half. There was a lot of contact probably due to the difficulty in sighting, got my goggles kicked, got pushed and shoved. I moved out of the pack and swam around 4k but I was quite happy to come out in 1h14 and not too tired.

Bike: 6h52 - moving time 6h38 (expecting about 7h - BestBikeSplit had me at 6h30)