Home General Training Discussions
Options

interval pacing

I am new to this type of training and finally have been able to get some numbers off my trainer in terms of wattage.  I have been trying to really determine my FTP and am now just training primarily with HR since I don't have a powertap.  I just listened to the interval focus lecture where Patrick said to break down the intervals into what you can manage, if i understand it correctly.  For example, my plan had me doing 10min intervals last night and i could only do 4 minutes at a time consistently, so that's what i did.  Is that what others have experienced and did i understand this correctly?  It seemed to be the recommendation rather than just having the latter intervals suck.

Comments?

thanks

mary

Comments

• Options

Hi Mary:

You want to complete the interval.  If you are only able to do 4 minutes of the 10 then you are going too hard.   Drop down another HR zone the next interval session and see how that goes.  Manage in 2, 3, 4 minutes sections within the interval.  Then slowly build/adjust over time.

EN bike intervals take a while to learn.  So don't feel bad.  Over time you will instinctively learn Rate of Perceived Exertion (RPE) doing intervals and you will use HR to help confirm that you are where you should be to complete the intervals.

Hope this helps.

John   

• Options

Hi Mary,