Home General Training Discussions
Options

Post Week 8 Testing Thoughts

This is my first time through the OS. I joined EN earlier in 2009 and while I attempted to follow the workouts I didn’t really get it. While I did generate some progress I don’t believe I ever hit the 2x20 bogies during my rides and my APB rides were a bit less than APB.

However, I am eight weeks into the OS and I get it. I struggled through the initial FTP test, loosing some 60 watts on my initial indoor FTP test vs. my outdoor version. I had no idea how to pace on the trainer and started out too hard and struggled and faded.

The Vdot test was also a painful affair and I started too fast and hard and ended the ordeal struggling to stay vertical. My 3.1 mile time gave me a Vdot of 40.4 but it was not pretty.

During the past eight weeks I have not missed a single session. I push each time and every one of my bike rides have been well above my FTP mark – even the 80-85% ers. My running is improving as well.

Now I understand the OS – it is as much about the mind as it is the body. I can now push through steady wattage, and finish each segment with a surge. My run pacing is improving. I am capable of much more than my body would lead me to believe.

During this week’s tests I bumped my FTP up 36 watts. I raised my Vdot from 40.4 to 41.5. Each session, while painful and, as promised by the coaches – clock stopping – was paced to perfection. My first couple of Vdot laps put me at a 7:36 per mile pace and I finished up with an overall pace of 7:31 per mile – negative splits are the best!

For me personally, I believe that as I head towards IM CDA 2010, the OS is generating my most important training sessions of the year. I am building a strong mental and physical base, and can feel it!  When it is time to add the far I will be ready - both physically and mentally.

I am pumped and while I know my physical progress will slow, my mental strength will continue to rock!

Thanks coaches!

Comments