Home General Training Discussions
Options

bunion toe pain 2 years after surgery0 HELP!?!

Yeah, I know. I work in healthcare. But seems I am reaching a dead end (or in denial about what course to take)

History: 2007 Pre-EN finally had surgery for bunion on R foot (it was bad, was told in 2000 to have it done and put it off for 7 years cause I am such a good patient). Anyway-healed up, returned to running, joined EN, completed iron race 9 months after surgery. Had no problems through all that. Had an occasional twinge, nothing that lasted. Fairly regular with foot massage.

In my rest from triathlon through the fall I have been doing DVDs that are a lot of core and plyo. For core think on the floor in plank position and doing all sorts of arm and leg moves.

Pain is at/over the surgical joint. Saw podiatrist that did the surgery, we already know I have arthritis in the joint. He compared x-rays and felt that I had no change and all looked good. I have iced, massaged, stretched. Have not taken NSAIDs. Cut running back to 1x/week even though running didn't really seem to aggravate the pain- or I ignore it and am no worse that I can tell. Cut out MOST of the jumping and tried to modify plank foot position to avoid being on toe end.

Pain persists a bit when I walk. Biking even seems to aggravate it, which is weird.

Only other change I made recently (just had an "AHA!"). I started wearing my orthotics in EVERYTHING including biking shoes, where previously had only worn them when running. Orthotics did not need replacing per podiatrist.

So is it the jumping? Or could it be the switch to always wearing the orthotics?

Comments

• Options

I reccomend you try  glucosamine (sp),  I hear it helps lube the joint but as far as growing new cartilage is unknown. It has helped 3-4 athletes that i know and trust, give it a try. In most cases i know it takes about a month to really start kicking in.